Main   Terms   People   Interviews   Resources   Events

Wentzel van Huyssteen

Wentzel van Huyssteen

J. Wentzel van Huyssteen, originally from South Africa, moved to the United States of America on January 1, 1992 to become Princeton Theological Seminary's first James I. McCord Professor of Theology and Science. He has research degrees in Philosophy (MA: University of Stellenbosch, South Africa) and Philosophical Theology (Ph.D: Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands) and has specialized in philosophy of science and religious epistemology. Van Huyssteen is married to Hester van Huyssteen and they have four children.

J. Wentzel van Huyssteen was Head of the Department of Religion at the University of Port Elizabeth, South Africa, from 1972 through 1991.  During this time he published numerous articles and several books. One of these, Theology and the Justification of Faith: Constructing Theories in Systematic Theology (Wm. Eerdmans, Grand Rapids 1989), was awarded the Andrew Murray Prize and also the Venter Prize for Academic Excellence. J. Wentzel van Huyssteen has read numerous papers and lectured widely, not only in the USA, Canada and South Africa, but also in Poland, Denmark, The Netherlands, England, Scotland, Switzerland, Germany and Italy. He is also a member of several national and international academic societies, and has been a member of the Steering Committee of the Theology and Science Section of the American Academy of Religion since 1992.

Since moving to Princeton in 1992, J. Wentzel van Huyssteen has won three Templeton Awards:  for his Inaugural Address Theology and Science: The Quest for a New Apologetics, and for two new courses he initiated at Princeton Theological Seminary, Theology and the New Physics and Theology and the Challenge of Darwinism.   At Princeton Theological Seminary van Huyssteen lectures in philosophical theology (and specifically on Theology and Science Issues) on a full-time basis. His special field of interest is religious and scientific epistemology, and Wm. Eerdmans Publishing Co. has published his latest books, Essays in Postfoundationalist Theology (July 1997), Rethinking Theology and Science: Six Models for the Current Discussion (edited with Niels H. Gregersen; July 1998), and most recently a major new work The Shaping of Rationality: Towards Interdisciplinarity in Theology and Science (July 1999).

In January 1998 J. Wentzel van Huyssteen gave the John Albert Hall Lectures at the University of Victoria (British Columbia). This lecture series, with the title Duet of Duel? Theology and Science in a Postmodern World, was published in book form in September 1998 by Trinity International Press in the USA and SCM Press in London. Three of Van Huyssteen's most recent books, Essays in Postfoundationalist Theology (1997), Rethinking Theology and Science (1998, with Niels H. Gregersen), and Duet or Duel? Theology and Science in a Postmodern World (1998), were all nominated for the Templeton Awards for Outstanding Books in Theology and the Natural Sciences.

In January 1999 the Dutch Royal Academy for Arts and Sciences invited Wentzel van Huyssteen to become the Chair of the International Committee for the Assessment of Theological Research in The Netherlands.  Most recently - in September 2000 - Professor van Huyssteen was appointed to the Worldwide Board of Advisors of the John Templeton Foundation.  In November 2000, Dr. van Huyssteen accepted an invitation by MacMillan Publishers, New York, to become Editor-in-Chief in the new Encyclopedia for Religion and Science, to be published in March 2003.

               To return to previous topic, click on your browser's 'Back' button. Email link

Wentzel van Huyssteen

All People

Full Picture Index
Nancy Ellen Abrams
Richard Address
Stacey Ake
David Albertini
Jensine Andresen
Lori Andrews
Munawar Anees
George Annas
Beth Arnold
Francisco Ayala
Anindita Balslev
Ian Barbour
John Barrow
Michael Behe
Gaymon Bennett
Eric Beresford
Charles Birch
Baruch Blumberg
David Brook
John Hedley Brooke
Jocelyn Bell Burnell
David Byers
Lisa Sowle Cahill
Brian Cantwell-Smith
Anna Case-Winters
Audrey Chapman
Jose Cibelli
Philip Clayton
Jane Maslow Cohen
Jonathan Cohen
Ronald Cole-Turner
Francis Collins
George Coyne
Francis Crick
Antonio Damasio
William Damon
Richard Davidson
Paul Davies
Richard Dawkins
Charles DeLisi
William Dembski
Demetrios Demopulos
Daniel Dennett
Alnoor Dhanani
Elliott Dorff
Freeman Dyson
Celia Deane-Drummond
Irven DeVore
Thomas Dixon
Peter Dodson
Willem Drees
William Durham
Noah Efron
Arnold Eisen
Paul Ekman
Niles Eldredge
George FR Ellis
Wesley Elsberry
Sandra Faber
Carl Feit
Anna Foerst
John Gabrieli
Scott Gilbert
Owen Gingerich
Duane Gish
Medhi Golshani
Ursula Goodenough
Steven Jay Gould
Colin Gracey
William Grassie
Ronald Green
David Ray Griffin
Michael Grodin
Bruno Guiderdoni
Alan Guth
Robert Hamerton-Kelly
John Haught
Sandra Harding
Stephen Hawking
Richard Hayes
Philip Hefner
Peter Hess
Martinez Hewlett
Peter Hodgson
Nancy Howell
Sir Fred Hoyle
William Hurlbut
Chris Isham
Antje Jackelén
Joseph Jacobs
Robert Jastrow
Calestous Jouma
Bill Joy
Solomon Katz
Donald Knuth
Melvin Konner
Judith Jenkins Kohatsu
Edward Kolb
Stephen Kosslyn
Job Kozhamthadam
Sheldon Krimsky
Lawrence Kushner
David Latham
Karen Lebacqz
John Leslie
Andre Linde
Amory Lovins
Marty Maddox
Randy Maddox
Mitch Marcus
Daniel Matt
Tsevi Mazeh
Sallie McFague
Alister McGrath
Paul McHugh
Michael Merzenich
Stephen Meyer
Mary Midgley
Jim Miller
Kenneth Miller
William Mobley
Jürgen Moltmann
Nancey Murphy
Paul Murray
David Myers
Naoki Nabeshima
Ronald Nakasone
Ken Nealson
Michael Robert Negus
Andrew Newberg
William Newsome
Warren A Nord
Ronald Numbers
Edward Oakes
Laurence O’Connell
Ayub Khan Ommaya
Lawrence Osborn
Eric Overström
Kuruvilla Pandikattu
Wolfhart Pannenberg
Arthur Peacocke
Jaroslav Pelikan
George Pell
Mark Pesce
Karl Peters
Ted Peters
Sir John Polkinghorne
Mike Poole
Stephen Post
M.G. Prasad
Joel Primack
V.S. Ramachandran
Asif Razvi
James Robl
Holmes Rolston
Steven Rose
William Stoeger
Rustum Roy
Pauline Rudd
Michael Ruse
Robert John Russell
Norbert Samuelson
Allan Sandage
Robert Sapolsky
Jeffrey Schloss
Seth Shulman
Eugenie Scott
Bonnie Joy Sedlak
Thomas Shannon
Vandana Shiva
Lee Silver
Seth Shostak
Barbara Smith-Moran
Robert Song
Christopher Southgate
Father Robert Spitzer
Russell Stannard
Jacqui Stewart
Lawrence Sullivan
Jill Tarter
Sir John Templeton
Trinh Xuan Thuan
George Tinker
Frank Tipler
Thomas Tracy
Roger Trigg
Thomas Turano
Neil Turok
Jean Vanier
Howard Van Till
Faraneh Vargha Khadem
Sara Via
Keith Ward
Brent Waters
Fraser Watts
Kirk Wegter McNelly
Steven Weinberg
Wesley Wildman
Margaret Wertheim
Sondra Ely Wheeler
Mary White Scharf
Preston Williams
Everett Worthington
Adrian Wyard
Ronnee Yashon
Michael Zigmond
Laurie Zoloth
Biography Index